Workshop on C*-algebras: Geometry and Actions

Focus Programme on C*-algebras

Münster, 13.–17. July 2015

Organised by Siegfried Echterhoff, Hannes Thiel, Stuart White, and Wilhelm Winter.


Talks will start Monday morning and end Friday afternoon.

Here is some general information on travel, accomodation etc.

To get started:

Walk to the institute on Monday morning

and register (9:00–9:30) on ground floor (SR0) of the tall building.

Talks start at 9:30.

Here is a preliminary schedule, and here are titles and abstracts.

Workshop dinner Tuesday 18:30 at I Galletti. Here is a map.

Wireless / local desktops:

If possible, use eduroam. Alternatively, Elke will be able

to provide you with a temporary guest login.


In M5, ground floor, library building.

Coffee breaks:

SR0, ground floor, tall building.


Mensa am Ring is the default place. For coffee, use Viva Café (not the (instant) coffee bar). Or the Italian places.

Or the Lichthof.

Dinner / beer:

La Vecchia Casa is quite convenient. There are also many places downtown; typical Westfalian restaurants are Kiepenkerl, Pinkus, Leve, Stuhlmacher, or Drübbelken.

Go to Jüdefelder Straße or Kreuzstraße for classical (typical?) student bars.

At the “Hafen” you’ll find a lot of restaurants and bars; nice to sit outside when the weather is good. (On the other side of town; it’s possible to walk, but not exactly close.)

A little more fancy: Gourmet 1895 (*), Villa Medici, Giverny,

Il Cucchiaio Argento, Rotkehlchen, Spitzner im Oerschen Hof, Acacia.


You’ll hear a lot of talk about Münster being a bike place.

It’s true, so no loitering on the red bike tracks.

You can rent a bike from the Radstation at the station or downtown.

Office space sparse. We have booked SR0 and M5 (almost)

throughout the week; outside talks and coffee breaks these

should be o.k. to work. You can also use the library.


Hiroshi Ando

Sarah Browne

Chris Bruce

Alcides Buss

Jorge Castillejos

Nhan-Phu Chung

Marius Dadarlat

Andrew Dean

Robin Deeley

Anna Duwenig

Caleb Eckhardt

Dominic Enders

Sam Evington

Carla Farsi

Marzieh Forough

Jamie Gabe

Eusebio Gardella

Piotr Hajac

Ilan Hirshberg

Yusuke Isono

David Kerr

Ersin Kızgut

Bartosz Kwasniewski

Tim de Laat

Hyun Ho Lee

Kang Li

Xin Li

David McConnell

Norio Nawata

Bogdan Nica

Hamed Nikpey

Rui Okayasu

Tron Omland

Joav Orovitz

Hervé Oyono-Oyono

Francesc Perera

Yasuhiko Sato

Eduardo Scarparo

Aidan Sims

Jan Spakula

Karen Strung

Yuhei Suzuki

Takuya Takeishi

Aaron Tikuisis

Alessandro Vignati

Rufus Willett

Joachim Zacharias

Local participants:

Marat Aukhadiev

Selcuk Barlak

Paulo Boff

Christian Bönicke

Martijn Caspers

Sayan Chakraborty

Joachim Cuntz

Steven Duplij

Siegfried Echterhoff

Huichi Huang

Andrea Kasprowski

Søren Knudby

Walther Paravicini

Ulrich Pennig

Henning Petzka

Kamran Sharifi

Nicolai Stammeier

Michael Sun

Gábor Szabó

Hannes Thiel

Stuart White

Wilhelm Winter

Jianchao Wu