WWU -- SFB 478
Geometric Structures in Mathematics  

This workshop will be held in honor of Detlef Gromoll who was co-organizer
of most of the previous worshops on curvature and global shape.
Here is a link to the NY-Times Obituary

Organizing Committee:
Christoph Boehm,  University of Münster
Wolfgang T. Meyer,
University of Münster
Burkhard Wilking,
University of Münster
Wolfgang Ziller,
University of Pennsylvania

The purpose of the meeting is to study relashionships between local and global invariants in Riemannian Geometry. Our intention is to bring together experts in the field as well as young mathematicians.  The program of the Workshop is structured so that beyond the lectures, there will be many opportunities for intensive discussions.

We should be able to cover all local costs for invited participants. Hopefully most participants will be able to cover their travel costs from other sources. If you have difficulties you may apply for travel costs on the registration form. Please register early using REGISTRATION above. If you intend to give a lecture and you are not shure about the title as yet, you may submit the title for your talk later. The registration deadline is May 22, 2009. People who register after that date will be considered for reimbursement only in exceptional cases.

The math building is located at the Coesfelder Kreuz Einsteinstrasse 62 (building #0 on the local map). It is the tall building with 9 floors.
All participants should register at Room 411 in that building. People can also get computer access there.

Lectures will take place in lecture rooms M2 and M4 in the lecture hall building (building #1 on the local map).
The dinner party on Saturday evening will take place in the Bombergsaal of the traditional restaurant Grosser Kiepenkerl, Spiekerhof 45, 48143 Münster. For accompaning persons a modest fee might apply.

For the bicycle tour accompaning persons are welcome to attend.
People who want to participate in the tour  and need a bicycle  should  let us know  if they have not  done so. A modest charge will apply for the bike rental.

Current (as of June 2, 2009) list of confirmed participants:
M. Amann (Münster),  C. Bär (Potsdam),  W. Ballmann (Bonn),  I. Belegradek (Atlanta),  J. Bernd (London),  A. Bhand (Oklahoma),  B. Botvinnik (Oregon),  U. Ciftci (Tekirdag),  V. Cortes (Hamburg),  O. Dearricott (California),  A. Dessai (Fribourg),  J. C. Dias-Ramos (Santiago de Compostela),  J. Eschenburg (Augsburg),  C. Escher (Corvallis),  T. Förtsch (Bonn),  P. Frank (Münster),  O. Goertsches (Köln),  K. Grove (U Notre Dame),  L. Guijarro (Madrid),  R. Gunesch (Hamburg),  G. Guzhvina (Lyon),  E. Heintze (Augsburg),  Hitzelberger (Münster),  S. Hoelzel (Münster),  J. -M. Iniotakis (Münster),  D. Jansen (Münster),  H. Karcher (Bonn),  M. Kerin (Münster),  A. Kollross (Augsburg),  L. Kramer (Münster),  N. Lebedeva (Münster),  F. Magata (Münster),  B. McKay (Cork City),  T. Murphy (Cork City, Ireland),  A. Nabutovsky (Toronto),  D.M. Nicklas (München),  A. Petrunin (Münster),  A. Pratoussevitch (Liverpool),  M. Radeschi (Philadelphia),  C. Ramos Cuevas (München),  F. Reidegeld (Hamburg),  X. Rong (Ruttgers),  R. Rotman (U Penn),  L. Schwachhöfer (Dortmund),  C. Searle (Cuernavaca),  R. Shankar (Oklahoma),  M. Simon (Freiburg),  W. Spindeler (Münster),  S. Stadler (München),  K. Tapp (SJU Philadelphia),  D. Töben (Köln),  G. Thorbergsson (Köln),  W. Tuschmann (Kiel),  L. Verdiani (Florenz),  M. Wang (Hamilton),  H. Weiss (München),  G. Weingart (Cuernavaca),  M.-L. Wermer (Darmstadt),  W. Werner (Münster)  M. Wiemeler (Fribourg),  S. Wiesendorf (Köln),  F. Wilhelm (Riverside),  A. Wörner (Münster),  D. Wraith (Maynooth).