Young Mathematicians in C*-Algebras

July 25-29, 2016

University of Münster

Note: This is a backup of the original website. For future installments of YMC*A check ymcstara.org

A conference organized for master students, Ph.D.-students, and postdocs in operator algebras and related areas, with the goal of fostering scientific and social interaction between young researchers. The conference will feature mini courses by established researchers alongside many contributed talks by participants.

In 2016, the conference was hosted by the Mathematical Institute at the University of Münster with financial support from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft through the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB 878).

In 2015, the conference was hosted by the University of Copenhagen.

In 2017, the conference will be hosted by the University of Copenhagen (link to appear).

General info

We have collected some general information about our conference and Münster in a booklet which you will receive upon arrival. You can also already read it here:

Mini courses

You can read the abstracts for the mini courses.

Mikael Rørdam
Groups and C*-Algebras

Mikael Rødam

Rufus Willett
Expanders, ghosts, and exactness

Mikael Rødam

Due to an unexpected cancellation, Siegfried Echterhoff and Wilhelm Winter each gave two lectures during the week.

Siegfried Echterhoff
Crossed products and exactness
(of groups)

Wilhelm Winter
Quasidiagonality and Amenability

Giving a talk

It is strongly encouraged to give a talk as we try to have as many talks as possible. It is not necessary for the talk to contain original research results -- expository talks on the speaker's area of research will also be appreciated. If you want to give a talk, please indicate this on the registration form and send us your abstract by June 12, 2016.

Registration and deadlines

Registration closed on June 26, 2016.


We are able to provide accommodation (in shared hotel rooms) to a large number of participating students and postdocs. The deadline for applying for support is over. We are regrettably unable to cover participants' travel costs.

Group photo


ymca@uni-muenster.de Note: This address is not active anymore

Marat Aukhadiev,
Christian Bönicke,
Sayan Chakraborty,
Eusebio Gardella,
Søren Knudby,
Sven Raum,
Gabor Szabo,
Hannes Thiel,
Jianchao Wu.

Last modifed: 17.08.2016.